Carrassonne Video Review

Rio Grande Games

[media  id=18 width=600 height=350]

What’s Cool:

  • Random Board every time!
  • Strategic yet fast paced and fun for everyone.
  • Great map-like Artwork. (Perfect for feeling like you’re a king, watching over your kingdoms)
  • Award Winner for all the right reasons.  (Won many awards)
  • Easy to follow rule book. (Lots of examples too)
  • Game has thieves, knights, monks, farmers, and castles.
  • Now comes with the river expansion included.

What’s Not:

  • Nothing! This game is one of the best we’ve played so far.
  • It would be good to see better artwork, more realistic art would be nice.

Neutral Information:

  • A lot of Expansions exist for this game.

User Ratings:

[starratingmulti id=1 tpl=12]

User Videos:

Overall rating by users:

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Permanent link to this article: http://www.boardtodeath.tv/carrassonne-review/

23 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. This game is one of the best I have played. And many people who I have introduced this game to have liked it upon the first play.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Patrick on November 10, 2012 at 2:41 PM

    It’s a classic, though I find it a little boring. It’s a classic example of Eurotrash game. Great mechanics, but no real theme and style to drive it home. Has little replay value in my opinion because every game you are doing the exact same thing.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • North_Irish on November 10, 2012 at 2:26 PM

    I love this game, it’s what got my wife in board games.

    Have you realised that the tile you refer to as a Cloister is not the named tile? In your example the actual cloister is played on the corner of the tile you placed your meeple on (it’s the building without a road going to it, there are 4 of them in the box not 2).

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  2. Just picked this up and I like it, but the family is way done that there is no theme.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  3. This game is a little funny. Its great in the sense that everyone has fun and can more or less make a map. Players can also ‘strategize’ and create their own playing field and parts in order to win the game. Its a quick paced game which I like, and its a cool game to play anyway. Have fun!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  4. Carcassonne was my first venture into modern/designer board games and it still comes out at least once a month. I love the game, the reviews are great. All is well!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Jim on September 27, 2010 at 2:52 PM

    This is one of my all time favorite games. It is easy to learn and easy to teach, but has a depth of play that will last for years. I have used this game to introduce so many people into the hobby of board gaming that it’s not even funny. I can’t think of a negative for the game other than one or two of the expansions (the catapult) are not that great, but many do add to the game. Check a site like boardtodeath.tv or boardgamegeek.com to help with making a decision about picking up a particular expansion, but do yourself a favor and definitely pick up a copy of Carcassone for your collection.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Wretched on September 11, 2010 at 7:58 PM

    I absolutely adore this game. I bought it on a whim and started playing it later that night. At first it was mildly confusing, but after a few rounds the idea really seems to stick. The only thing those I have taught to play have any kind of issue with is how the farmers are scored at the end of the game.
    I also purchased this title for the XBox 360 and have spent MANY MANY hours playing ranked matches. As with any game that focuses on smaller sized pieces, it is very nice to have a computer “clean” the game up for you. There is an immense amount of strategy to the game once you have all the basics down. As a response to Kantpaper’s earlier statement about strategy not being evident, there are numerous ways to “invade” the cities of your opponents, create small farms that appear benign but once another piece is played, become part of the opponents populous-feeding mega-farm (or even 2 farms that connect and “bump” the other player from the end-game bonuses.) Another favorite of ranked players, with a better knowledge of what pieces exist and which may not, is to “block” a city by leaving it in a position where there is not a piece in existence to complete that city leaving their city-guarding knight to suffer alone and rendered useless to the very end.

    This game is outstanding and earned every accolade it received. For those out there who enjoy randomized games with limitless replay value, 10/10… and how do you not already own this game! Why are you still reading, get to the store (or the XBL Marketplace) and BUY THIS GAME!! DO IT!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  5. Nice game but only for 2 or max 3 players.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  6. I bought this game last week. After three plays, I have to admit that the strategy is not that evident. The art is great and the mechanics are fresh (to me). Maybe the games we played were anomalies, or maybe the strategy just hasn’t clicked yet, but we got the sense that players are very much slaves to the tiles they draw. There are lots of choices, but only a couple of which are reasonable.

    We plan on playing it again soon. And when we do, if our assessment changes, I’ll post it.

    If anyone has any thoughts about the type of strategy involved, I’d be interested in hearing them.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Tarno on April 11, 2010 at 11:47 AM

    This is a quick, easy to pickup and play game that i’d recommend for all audiences. This game plays well with groups who don’t want to invest much learning time into a game. The game plays out in 30 minutes and has an adicitve replay as each map you build will be completly different.

    The new bundle is sold with “The River” included. This is a nice touch and does not add extra unwanted rules to the game.

    This game sells for around 30$ and is well worth it.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  7. Fun idea and game, The artwork does little for me though. It has some confusing rules regarding the farmers, but overall is a great concept, many people love the puzzle aspect of the game, and you feel as though you accomplished something (when you win…)

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  8. I love this game, but unfortunately my game group seems burnt out on it.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  9. Great review. Over the last couple of weeks, this game has made a rapid climb up my wish list.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Kandax on March 27, 2010 at 2:15 PM

    Impossibly fun, saw the review on the site and decided to pick it up. got it for just under 25$ WITH SHIPPING, great buy and one of the cheapest games on market now. Easy to read instructions and easy to play game, scoring is easy and game moves very fast once acquainted. Cant say ill ever get bored of it and cant wait to pick up any of the 4 expansions. Very fun and enjoyable easy to accommodate up to 5 players with massive strategy involved. Easy to complex depending on your opponents. 9.5 out of 10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Squibz on March 9, 2010 at 2:35 PM

    This looks fantastic. I was originally introduced to this game before I was into board games via XBox Live Arcade version and I didn’t remember particularly enjoying it that much, but I think that as a board game, it is quite simple to start but with enough strategic elements to keep playing, etc. I’m definitely looking into giving it a try.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ranoobu on March 5, 2010 at 5:48 PM

    This was the first tile laying game that i’ve ever played. It was very fun when I played it as a 2 player game for the first few games, but got a bit dull afterwards.

    I really recommend this game with at 3 players to add some extra randomness to the game.

    There are different ways you can play this game to make it more interesting.. such as having people pick multiple tiles a turn and picking the one they want to use or whatever other house rules you can come up with.

    If you are new to tile laying, this might be a good introduction to it because the rules are very simple and the mechanics are easy. All in all, this is a fun game. I give it a 7/10 only because there are so many other tile laying games out there you can upgrade to after this one.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  10. Haven’t found a single person who hasn’t enjoyed this game! Easy to teach and it’s really rewarding watching the board take shape after each turn! 10/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Hem on February 18, 2010 at 5:34 AM

    As everyone : a great great game. 30 minutes to play, easy to count the points after a few games (even the farmers : get the last printed edition to get a very clear rulebook), a horrible old fashioned euro design, a concept of simple mechanics that can lead to very very complex thinking and planning… I love that game like crazy and it’s pretty rare, for someone like who always dumbly spits on my own continent’s game. I give it a 9 !!!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  11. Carcasonne has lost a little of its shine for me now I have more games in my collection, but there is no denying that it is a great game. It is one of those games that people love when they first see it, and with almost a million expansions there is plenty of replayability.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ja on December 8, 2009 at 3:31 PM

    wow an instant classic.
    It’s impressive how such a simple concept can be so much fun.

    this one gets the 9.5/10
    (lost half a point because randomly picking up crappy tiles can get frustrating)

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • clomy on December 2, 2009 at 11:10 PM

    Fun and simple to play, yet with enough strategic complexity to keep the more advanced player interested, Carcasonne’s success speaks for itself. When it comes to choosing fantasy scenarios to re-create, rural medieval France may seem like an unlikely candidate, but its in keeping with the Euro Game tradition of recent decades of which Carcasonne is an undeniable classic. There always seems to be some confusion with calculating the score for the farmers, which is the only concern that comes to mind, but it is a minor one at that, and the Carcasonne people have gone a long way to make the game accessible to the mainstream. Also, they coined the term “meeple” which has become a phenom all its own.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  12. Takes a few minutes to get into but its so fun once u get it!!!!
    i loved it. i wish they’d made nicer token-things but it doesnt really matter when
    ure playing.
    gr8 game!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...

Comments have been disabled.