Munchkin Quest Video Review

Myriad Board Games
[media  id=8 width=600 height=350]

What’s Cool:

  • Hilarious game cards and board.
  • One of the few funny games out there.
  • The board is random every time you play.
  • Snap in pieces to create the board as you explore it.
  • Great quality for the price you pay.

What’s Not:

  • Some rules need to be more precise.
  • The rule book is horrible, lots of questions remain unanswered.
  • Some card will contradict other and create confusion and arguments among players.
  • The rule book says to create your own rules when the time comes. (?)
  • Monster mobs can be created and this was fixed by giving a cop-out movement rule to monsters.

Neutral Information:

  • 4 Players without expansion
  • Long player turns

User Ratings:

[starratingmulti id=1 tpl=12]

Overall rating by users:

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Permanent link to this article: http://www.boardtodeath.tv/munchkin-quest-review/

16 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. How does this game compare to the regular Munchkin? Is one better than the other? which do you suggest purchasing?

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • StrudelNinja on July 4, 2013 at 1:11 AM

    The fact that the rules are ambiguous is half the point of Munchkin. In the original game, there’s a cheat card that lets you break rules (such as stealing an item from a player, or using equipment that you are not anatomically allowed) and I always like to use it to do something like getting a sidekick or a HQ from Super Munchkin, or a ship from Star Munchkin. If something isn’t explicit from the rules or the cards, it’s up to arguing with the game’s host (a pseudo-dungeon master, if you will).

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  2. I haven’t played this one, but I have Munchkin Cthulhu, and it seems like it has the same problem with vagueness of the rules. Some people tell me that that’s part of the fun, but I personally don’t buy that. When there is no actual rule for a situation, you can’t ‘figure it out’, because there is nothing TO figure out. Save yourself the breath and just roll a dice to see who wins a rule argument.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • VinceB on March 4, 2013 at 5:35 PM

    Good video, nice share of information’ll definitively try to get my hand on Munchkin Quest asap!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  3. Great review.
    I liked this game, but I really want to love it and I just can’t.
    I appreciate the upgrades from the barebones card game, but it is just too much.
    The down time on this game is big for such a light fun game.
    Since your not planning strategy then what is the point?

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  4. The game is pretty good as a stand alone game, but when compared to the card game, it seems too tedious. It is fun to be able to walk around and interact with a dungeon, but starts to get tired and long after a few turns, with everyone trying to make the best strategies each turn take about 10 minutes.

    As with the card game, some players can get really lucky and get awesome cards, while others might get completely crappy cards the entire game, thus making the game one sided. Also, since the monsters don’t leave till they die, sometimes the board is full of monsters that can’t be killed, and new ones can’t come out till one dies, so the game is in a stale mate.

    Over all, it is a good game, just sometimes the rules need to be “munchkinized” so that the game is balanced for everyone playing.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  5. The build quality of the game is solid for sure. The pieces fit together nicely and everything feels solid in your hands.

    The separation of the door cards to Dues Ex and Monster really makes sense though now I need to explain what Dues Ex means!

    The charm of the game is still here but now with an added level of control- the level of strategy is higher than the card game where chaos is the higher factor.

    The problem here is oh my god it takes forever. I played in a 4 player game with some expert players for 8.5 hours!!

    Munchkin Quest is bad need of a revision. I recommend waiting for the 2nd edition rules or looking online for house rules. Don’t play with virgin rules, unless you have all day to kill.

    Hope this helped!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Rashley on August 4, 2010 at 3:05 PM

    Having been a fan of the original Munchkin games, I purchased this as soon as it reached my local games shop in the UK. I spent hours sorting out all the ‘bits’ and playing some 4 handed games on my own. Unfortunately, I have to state that I was bitterly disappointed with this effort. SJ Games really dropped the baton on this. All I was hopeing for was all the witty, random but simple fun of the old game, with the addition of Rooms to explore like a real dungeon adventure. Here, however, they seem to have shoved in as many fiddly extras as they could. Turns go on for ever, with so many very large cards to deal with, extra fiddly bits that add very little to the game except timeconsuming complications. The rules were bad as well. We know that with so much fun variety of cards as in the original game, things can clash. But they have not learnt their lesson and have got much worse. I still play and enjoy the originals, and started many new groups with it, but teaching anyone this version is a nightmare. What a shame!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  6. Like what most others are saying, great game IF you like the card game. That is a pretty big if seeing I know a lot of people who hate the card game, I on the other hand love it and love the board game. So, my advice is if you havnt played either the card game or the board game, by the card game first and see how much you like it (both cost a little more then they are worth, but they are a blast to play).

    8/10

    (I hope the release more expansions)

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  7. I have heard much about this game. And having past gaming experience should make the jokes better.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • landru on April 25, 2010 at 3:00 AM

    Munchkin Quest is pretty good… nice components and decent humorous dungeon crawl. My son unfortunately loves to gang up on Mom and then Mom gets frustrated and doesn’t like the game. So we try to play co-op until we get bast the first couple levels for all the players. Biggest problem as mentioned here is the lack of coherent rules… we spend a lot of time hunting for clarification. Otherwise nice game.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Tarno on April 11, 2010 at 12:00 PM

    A light hearted “Stab your buddy in the Back” game. The game has a random feel to each new room you enter adding to great replayability. The cards in the boardgame are well made and in colour, a major improvement form the old format. The game takes a while to fully explore and i would recommend playing with the shortened game rules for a better experience especially for new players to the game!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ranoobu on March 26, 2010 at 5:59 PM

    If you liked the original Munchkin card game, you’ll like this game too.

    It’s a bit more with a dungeon crawl aspect.

    The same munchkin feel is there except there are dungeon tiles now..

    Other players can help or hose you depending on what happens.. you can backstab your allies or hurt your enemies. one of the things I don’t like is that you may never get to a class or race because of the cards you draw (Random)

    Rating: 7/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Dandy_GO on February 24, 2010 at 9:30 PM

    To be honest I’ve now tried a few of the Munchkin series, and have not been impressed. The humor gets old pretty quickly, and I don’t really find the gameplay at all exciting. It seems far too easy for one player to absolutely dominate, and another to have absolutely no chance right from the outset, all based on the luck of a draw.
    While I’ve not played Quest, and some of the changes do look a little interesting, I’m not sure there’s enough there for me to give the series another chance.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Max-Yazz on February 19, 2010 at 9:36 PM

    Very much like the munchkin cardgame this boardgame is silly and fun. But it as a few little hole in the rulebooks witch make its hard to fully enjoys it. Their is to much downtime during other players turn, espacialy in a 6 player game. But the humour makes for it all its flaw, every new room or card is a new joke to tickle your funny bone. With the right friends this game is a good way to spend a gaming night.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ja on December 9, 2009 at 12:12 PM

    This is a cool spin on the traditional card game. The cards are funny but if you’ve already played the card game there isn’t anything new.

    The game is really slow at first but later in the game when level 40 monsters are walking through the dungeon, this game because intense. Unlike the card game there is no consequence for making a monster superhuman to attack your friends. What’s cool is that monster will now stay in the dungeon and attack you !

    A con, just like the card game, is that the game can get very frustrating if you keep drawing hard monsters and the opponents easy ones.

    This game is lots of fun with many players, and not so much with only 2.
    I give it an 8/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...

Comments have been disabled.