Summoner Wars Card Game & Faction Decks

FACTION DECKS VIDEO – VANGUARDS & FALLEN KINGDOM:

FACTION DECKS VIDEO – Cloaks & Jungle Elves:

What’s Good:

  • Tactical & Strategic.
  • Well Balanced.
  • Easy to learn & teach.
  • Portable.
  • Each race has their own special abilities and style of play.
  • Nice rule book with examples.

What’s Not:

  • The Playing sheet is annoying.
  • The starting moves are predictable.

Neutral Infromation:

  • You can create you own army and customize your deck.

User Ratings:

[starratingmulti id=1 tpl=12]

Overall User Ratings:

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Permanent link to this article: http://www.boardtodeath.tv/summoner-wars-video-review/

13 comments

Skip to comment form

    • pitdood on August 1, 2013 at 6:52 AM

    Not the kind of game I would spend money on, but my friend owns it, and it is a very good game. It is right up his alley as a former tournament Magic player; he is very, very happy with it. I also enjoy playing, but again, it’s not my genre so I wouldn’t buy it for myself

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  1. This is by far one of our all time favourite games. Fast, simple to learn but plenty of depth and just good fun! I particularly love how quickly it swings from apparent victory to crushing defeat, you really don’t know who is going to win until they actually do!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Patrick on November 21, 2012 at 6:20 AM

    Not the biggest fan of deck building styled games but looks interesting. If someone else I knew owned it, I would play on his dime first then decide if I want to add it to my own collection

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  2. Very clever game with neat and working mechanics ! The artwork may seem a little simple or “classic” compared to FFG or other big-companies productions, but they keep improving and are highly thematic !
    Each game is different thanks to the various factions…

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  3. Clearly a game that will be copied in the future, brilliant idea. I will say however that the art really take a lot away for me.
    I hate to be that guy, but it just seems weak in that area.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  4. Just bought the Master Set and I’m dying to try it out. Just have to convince my wife to play…maybe flowers will do the trick! ;-)

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  5. Pretty fun fantasy combat game. The art is pretty decent and I like how the factions work, though sometimes the balance between them seemed a little heavy in favor of one side. The mat can be an annoyance but we just layed a piece of plexi over it and it worked like a charm. Give it a solid 7 out of 10, though it may get cooler as they add more factions.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Wretched on September 14, 2010 at 8:42 AM

    Anything that looks like a cross between Magic: the Gathering and Stratego sounds right up my alley. I may have to get this one and some of those expansion decks. I may as well start drawing out my own board now, as well. That playing sheet looks like sheet!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Kalidor on September 1, 2010 at 4:40 PM

    Having all the decks, these two newest factions are quite fun to play.
    This game is being done the “right” way, imho.
    A lot of different options between deck styles and good, fast tactical play.
    I am even considering the premium board, because, as they state in the review above, the paper sheet isn’t up to snuff…

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Rashley on August 5, 2010 at 5:52 AM

    In any fantasy wargame, the main ingredient has to be ‘different’ factions. The 2 basic start sets give you 4 factions and each play in a unique way. Well done to Plaid Hat! It is quick and simple to learn and play as well as store. I agree that with the same set ups, there will be set opening moves against different factions, but once the randomness of die rolling and card draws kicks in, each game will develope differently. 2 new factions have now come out adding Humans and Undead. I would also like to see a few extra cards for each of the present 6 factions, just to add a bit more variety without lengthening the game too much. 8 out of 10.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ranoobu on March 22, 2010 at 2:44 PM

    This game is a lot of fun and was made by someone who was involved with heroscape. So along with my Heroscape purchase, I thought I would give this a try.

    The game mechanics are pretty simple, but a lot of fun.. there are currently 4 different types of armies that you can choose and each one is uniquely different from the others which helps replayability. Even though they are all different.. they seem to be pretty well balanced in my opinion. However, it does seem like each unit targets specifically another unit’s special abilities

    Elves vs Orcs
    Goblins vs Dwarves

    The only thing I didn’t really like was that “board” that the game comes with. It’s basically a fold out paper board that you use to play. (You don’t really need to use it.. it just helps with organization)

    It’s a game that you should check out if you like fast, card, strategic games with a medieval theme.

    I rate this game an 8/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ja on February 5, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    Ill start off by saying that the orcs deck is WAY to powerful. (yes i lost but that’s because I constantly failed my rolls and still i almost won by 1 failed attack at the end)

    I will give this game an average score of 6/10. There is some fun to be had if your into fantasy card games.
    What I didn’t like is the predefined setup (takes away from actual strategy), the mat is terrible, and after playing a couple of games this game gets really repetitive because of the nature of the game.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  6. very cool card game fast easy fun to play when your kicking your friends ass but in all i give this game a 8.5/10 i liked it had fun playing it

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...

Comments have been disabled.