Ticket to Ride Video Review

What’s Cool:

  • Fast paced with lots of strategy.
  • Great rulebook with examples.
  • Nice big board and great production quality.
  • Everyone has a chance to win and you don’t know who’s winning until the game ends.
  • Everything is well separated inside the box.
  • Nice artwork on the board and box.

What’s Not:

  • Not much, it’s a fun game!

Neutral Information:

  • You can buy expansions and different versions.

User Ratings:

[starratingmulti id=1 tpl=12]

Overall User Ratings:

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Permanent link to this article: http://www.boardtodeath.tv/ticket-to-ride-video-review/

19 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. This game looks really simple and a lot of fun. Can’t wait to play it.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Turgon on December 22, 2012 at 12:59 AM

    I do have this game on my CPU. Still it is fun to play with people in US. Never played on board still it might be nice to play with little train.

    The rules are easy to understand.
    The game goes fast.
    Then the final points are always the harsh part. I always loose in this final spot! Might need to change my strategy but I do play to have fun not to win. Especially in this kind of “relax” game.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  2. Always a fun one to bring out when you have friends over. Now only if i can figure out how to beat newbies at the game. every time we have a friend playing for the first time, the always seem to win…

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  3. It was an easy pick up and play game. My friend and I both love playing games and it wasn’t difficult to get non-gamers involved.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • TheImp on March 27, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    This is one of my favorite games to play because I can play it with my family. It is a great way to introduce people to board games and something both gamers and non-gamers can enjoy together. Really easy game to teach to people who don’t play board games.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  4. This is one of my favorite games to play because it appeals to the non-gamer friends and family that I know. My family will actually play this one with me because it’s competitive without being too intense.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • ChrisNYC on March 19, 2012 at 10:59 PM

    Fun game, better as an iOS.
    I haven’t found anough player interaction or blocking to call it interactive, indirect at best.
    A lot of fun, but I wish the theme was better.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  5. My family loves this game, but like uno, if you’re not getting the cards, there is nothing you can do but play out the game. Alvin and dexter at least lets you mess with the other people to slow them down until you can catch up which is something the base game needs. Altho it’d sell better if it was more thematic than monsters. something like indians blowing up tracks or bandits.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  6. Have to agree with the crowd, this is a good game for gamers AND people just trying out games for the first time. It’s not terribly difficult and it gets everyone involved in the game early and keeps them going. I do like the Europe variation more, but this is a solid game that never really gets old, particularly when you break it out and get the family playing on a holiday!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Kayoz on July 7, 2010 at 4:49 PM

    Real good solid family game, or one thats not a real hard thinker. I’ve played Germany, Europe and US, and the Favorite by far in our family is Europe, it allows the most flexibility and companion. I actually met my wife while playing this game lol thought I’d be marrying a hard core gamer after playing her and her co workers in the game at lunch every day for a few weeks. Boy was i wrong lol! Sure is a fun game have friends that don’t play board games or ADD peeps that play it because it fast paced. For playing with peeps that aren’t serious board gamers i’d rate it a 9/10, for those that play lots of board games and want something meaty, 6.5/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Tarno on April 11, 2010 at 12:09 PM

    A great family game. Easy to pickup and play. Personally not enough depth for me to really dig my teeth into. That said when playing with a younger audience or a group that does not want to take time learning rules to a game i would highly recommend it.

    That is if everyone enjoys the train theme!

    The expansions add some depth and are a little more 2 player friendly. Overall a good game.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  7. TtR is not my favorite game, but when it comes to games that can be explained to non-gamers to a jiff and games that newbies can compete in right away there is really no match in my book.

    One of my favorite things about the game (and this is something that nearly everyone I have introduced it to think as well) is that the game creates a great sense of urgency and pressure. It feels very much like a race. And it is from this effect on the players that the decisions made in the game become so interesting. Is it really wise to take another ticket when Bob has 7 trains left?

    Again, not an overall favorite, but damn good. 8.25/10

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  8. Ticket to ride (US) is a easy game to understand and teach. However, it is collecting sets, deciding which sets to collect, turning them in for trains, then deciding where to put trains. There is some player interaction and competition for routes. It is pleasant, but not really fun. I would still rate it a 7/10, but don’t think that this is the pinnacle of board gaming or in other words, if you don’t love this game, don’t give up on trying other games.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  9. I have to agree with Dandy_GO – re: the preference for Ticket to Ride: Europe.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  10. This game is good for anyone!

    Board is very large and easy to look at!

    The most reading you have to do is reading the name of a city!

    Enough complexity for serious gamers!

    A Must Have for any Collection!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  11. Everyone I have introduced this game to loves it. My dad especially. Anything that can gateway my 70 yr old dad is top billing in my book!

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
    • Dandy_GO on February 24, 2010 at 9:22 PM

    Pretty much the perfect gateway game as far as I’m concerned. I’ve played it with so many people who had little to no gaming experience, or interest, and can’t think of a single person who didn’t enjoy it. It’s really a blast, and is so incredibly easy to pick up.
    Must say I prefer Europe over the original map, as the additions of tunnels, ferries etc add a little more strategy, without detracting from the simplicity that makes this game so attractive.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  12. A very enjoyable game. I like how it can be unclear on who will win right up until the end. Usually the people everyone focus’ on end up not winning. a fun group game.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...
  13. Ticket to Ride is a very easy game to teach and learn, and as such a great game for introducing new players to boardgaming. The game will play from 2 to 5 players, although I have found it to be much better with 4 or 5. There are other maps that are specifically designed for 2 or 3 players, but they can be hard to find.

    TtR is a good game to play with kids. It is ideal for parents that are keen to educate their kids at every possible opportunity as there is arithmatic and geography involved throughout the game. My son is 7 and is more than capable of playing – some of the finer strategic points escape him, but it is an hour of quality family time that we all enjoy.

    No votes yet.
    Please wait...

Comments have been disabled.